USENIX Association

Proceedings of the 15th USENIX Symposium on Operating Systems Design and Implementation (OSDI '21)

July 14-16, 2021

© 2021 by The USENIX Association

All Rights Reserved

This volume is published as a collective work. Rights to individual papers remain with the author or the author's employer. Permission is granted for the noncommercial reproduction of the complete work for educational or research purposes. Permission is granted to print, primarily for one person's exclusive use, a single copy of these Proceedings. USENIX acknowledges all trademarks herein.

ISBN 978-1-939133-22-9

Conference Organizers

Program Co-Chairs Angela Demke Brown, University of Toronto Jay Lorch, Microsoft Research **Program Committee** Atul Adya, Google Deniz Altinbüken, Google Nadav Amit, VMware Research Thomas Anderson, University of Washington Sebastian Angel, University of Pennsylvania Behnaz Arzani, Microsoft Research Mahesh Balakrishnan, Facebook Sujata Banerjee, VMware Research Sorav Bansal, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi Andrew Baumann, Microsoft Research Adam Belay, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Theophilus A. Benson, Brown University Pramod Bhatotia, Technische Universität Munich James Bornholt, The University of Texas at Austin Edouard Bugnion, EPFL George Candea, EPFL Kang Chen, Tsinghua University Rong Chen, Shanghai Jiao Tong University Mosharaf Chowdhury, University of Michigan Moshe Gabel, University of Toronto Ada Gavrilovska, Georgia Institute of Technology Manya Ghobadi, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Garth A. Gibson, Vector Institute, Carnegie Mellon University, and University of Toronto Ashvin Goel, University of Toronto Joseph Gonzalez, University of California, Berkeley Ronghui Gu, Columbia University Haryadi Gunawi, University of Chicago Chuanxiong Guo, ByteDance Chris Hawblitzel, Microsoft Research Jon Howell, VMware Research Yu Hua, Huazhong University of Science and Technology Ryan Huang, Johns Hopkins University Michael Isard, Google Research Joe Izraelevitz, University of Colorado, Boulder Manos Kapritsos, University of Michigan Baris Kasikci, University of Michigan Sam King, University of California, Davis Orran Krieger, Boston University Arvind Krishnamurthy, University of Washington Amit Levy, Princeton University Jialin Li, National University of Singapore Wyatt Lloyd, Princeton University Shan Lu, University of Chicago Harsha V. Madhyastha, University of Michigan Petros Maniatis, Google Z. Morley Mao, University of Michigan Changwoo Min, Virginia Tech Radhika Mittal, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Dushyanth Narayanan, Microsoft Research Ravi Netravali, University of California, Los Angeles Kay Ousterhout, Lightstep

Aurojit Panda, New York University Gennady Pekhimenko, University of Toronto and Vector Institute Amar Phanishayee, Microsoft Research Peter Pietzuch, Imperial College London Don Porter, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Oriana Riva, Microsoft Research Malte Schwarzkopf, Brown University Vyas Sekar, Carnegie Mellon University Michael Stumm, University of Toronto Lalith Suresh, VMware Research Doug Terry, Amazon Alexey Tumanov, Georgia Institute of Technology Amin Vahdat, Google Shivaram Venkataraman, University of Wisconsin-Madison Rashmi Vinayak, Carnegie Mellon University Marko Vukolić, IBM Research - Zurich Andrew Warfield, Amazon Gala Yadgar, Technion–Israel Institute of Technology Junfeng Yang, Columbia University Ding Yuan, University of Toronto Irene Zhang, Microsoft Research Yiying Zhang, University of California, San Diego Wenting Zheng, University of California, Berkeley, and Carnegie Mellon University Yuanyuan Zhou, University of California, San Diego

Preview Session Co-Chairs

Sangeetha Abdu Jyothi, University of California, Irvine, and VMware Research
Deniz Altinbüken, Google
Dilma Da Silva, Texas A&M University
Aurojit Panda, New York University

Mentoring Co-Chairs

Baris Kasikci, University of Michigan Amy Ousterhout, University of California, Berkeley Malte Schwarzkopf, Brown University

Networking Session Co-Chairs

Reto Achermann, University of British Columbia Zsolt István, IT University of Copenhagen Adriana Szekeres, VMware Research Vasily Tarasov, IBM Research - Almaden

Steering Committee

Andrea Arpaci-Dusseau, University of Wisconsin—Madison Jason Flinn, Facebook Casey Henderson, USENIX Association Jon Howell, VMware Research Kimberly Keeton Hank Levy, University of Washington Shan Lu, University of Chicago James Mickens, Harvard University Brian Noble, University of Michigan Timothy Roscoe, ETH Zurich Margo Seltzer, University of British Columbia Geoff Voelker, University of California, San Diego

Adam Chlipala Aditya Akella Adriana Szekeres Ana Klimovic Carmela Troncoso Cristina Nita-Rotaru Harry Xu James Mickens James R. Wilcox Jonathan Mace

External Reviewers

Kim Laine Philip Levis Rebecca Isaacs Ryan Stutsman Sarah Meiklejohn Srinath Setty Steven Hand Ulfar Erlingsson