**USENIX** Association

# Proceedings of the 14th USENIX Symposium on Operating Systems Design and Implementation (OSDI '20)

November 4–6 2020

## © 2020 by The USENIX Association

## All Rights Reserved

This volume is published as a collective work. Rights to individual papers remain with the author or the author's employer. Permission is granted for the noncommercial reproduction of the complete work for educational or research purposes. Permission is granted to print, primarily for one person's exclusive use, a single copy of these Proceedings. USENIX acknowledges all trademarks herein.

### ISBN 978-1-939133-19-9

Cover Image created by freevector.com and distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 license (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0/).

# Symposium Organizers

#### **Program Co-Chairs**

Jon Howell, *VMware Research* Shan Lu, *University of Chicago* 

## **Program Committee**

Rachit Agarwal, Cornell University Lorenzo Alvisi, Cornell University Tom Anderson, University of Washington Sebastian Angel, University of Pennsylvania Andrea Arpaci-Dusseau, University of Wisconsin-Madison Andrew Baumann, Microsoft Research Irina Calciu, VMware Research George Candea, EPFL Rong Chen, Shanghai Jiao Tong University Wenguang Chen, Tsinghua University Vijay Chidambaram, The University of Texas at Austin and VMware Research Byung-Gon Chun, Seoul National University Allen Clement Natacha Crooks, University of California, Berkeley Dilma Da Silva, Texas A&M University Alexandra Fedorova, University of British Columbia Jason Flinn, Facebook Roxana Geambasu, Columbia University Yossi Gilad, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem Haryadi Gunawi, University of Chicago Andreas Haeberlen, University of Pennsylvania Tim Harris, Amazon Chris Hawblitzel, Microsoft Research Gernot Heiser, University of New South Wales and CSIRO's Data61 Y. Charlie Hu, Purdue University Ryan Huang, Johns Hopkins University Rebecca Isaacs. Twitter Frans Kaashoek, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Manos Kapritsos, University of Michigan Baris Kasikci, University of Michigan Kimberly Keeton Anne-Marie Kermarrec, EPFL Ana Klimovic, Google Research and ETH Zurich Jinyang Li, New York University Wyatt Lloyd, Princeton University Jay Lorch, Microsoft Research

Xiaosong Ma, Quatar Computing Research Institute Kathryn S. McKinley, Google James Mickens, Harvard University Robert Morris, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Derek Murray, Google Madan Musuvathi, Microsoft Research Bryan Parno, Carnegie Mellon University Simon Peter, The University of Texas at Austin Don Porter, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Dan Ports, Microsoft Research Costin Raiciu, University Politehnica of Bucharest Malte Schwarzkopf, Brown University Ryan Stutsman, University of Utah Michael Swift, University of Wisconsin-Madison Kaushik Veeraraghavan, Facebook Rashmi Vinayak, Carnegie Mellon University Xi Wang, University of Washington Yang Wang, The Ohio State University John Wilkes, Google Emmett Witchel, The University of Texas at Austin Harry Xu, University of California, Los Angeles Tianyin Xu, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Junfeng Yang, Columbia University Ding Yuan, University of Toronto Nickolai Zeldovich, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Irene Zhang, Microsoft Research Yiying Zhang, University of California, San Diego Lidong Zhou, Microsoft Research Yuanyuan Zhou, University of California, San Diego

#### **Steering Committee**

Andrea Arpaci-Dusseau, University of Wisconsin—Madison Jason Flinn, Facebook Casey Henderson, USENIX Association Kimberly Keeton Hank Levy, University of Washington James Mickens, Harvard University Brian Noble, University of Michigan Timothy Roscoe, ETH Zurich Margo Seltzer, University of British Columbia Geoff Voelker, University of California, San Diego

# **External Reviewers**

Joy Arulraj Mahesh Balakrishnan Fred Chong Peter Chubb Zhihao Jia Gerwin Klein Jing Li Ashlie Martinez Justin Meza Rajesh Nishtala Rohan Padhye Mark Silberstein

Adriana Szekeres Chunqiang Tang Carl Waldspurger Ben Y. Zhao