Message from the NSDI '23 Program Co-Chairs

Welcome to NSDI '23! This year marks the 20th anniversary of the NSDI conference. In these two decades, networked systems have transformed the way that we live, work, and interact with one another. NSDI papers have spearheaded this revolution, providing many of the key technological advances behind industries such as Cloud Computing, Big Data, Software-Defined Networks, and more. With this latest iteration of NSDI, we hope to extend our community's track record of enabling and accelerating seismic shifts in computing via foundational research.

NSDI '23 received 560 submissions across two deadlines (272 in the Spring and 288 in the Fall), an increase of 40% from NSDI '22. To handle this record number of submissions, we assembled a Program Committee of 99 experts from academia and industry. The reviewing process included two rounds of double-blind review, an online discussion phase, and a two-day online PC meeting for each of the two deadlines. A total of 96 papers were accepted, resulting in an acceptance rate of 17%.

We thank our Program Committee members, who wrote over 1.6 million words of thoughtful, high-quality feedback across 2172 reviews, and discussed the papers extensively online and during the PC meetings. Many thanks to our poster chairs, Francis Yan and Soudeh Ghorbani, for bringing back the poster session to NSDI after a three-year hiatus. We thank our stand-in conflict PC chairs: Ben Y. Zhao, Siddhartha Sen, Indranil Gupta, and Katerina Argyraki. We would also like to thank Ellen Zegura, Rebecca Isaacs, and Matthew Caesar for helping us select the Best Paper award winners this year; and Aditya Akella, Sujata Banerjee, Ranjita Bhagwan, Jon Howell, James Mickens, Amar Phanishayee, George Porter, Vyas Sekar, and Minlan Yu for serving on the Test-of-Time awards committee. We are also grateful to Amar Phanishayee, Vyas Sekar, Arvind Krishnamurthy, Jay Lorch, Aditya Akella, and the rest of the NSDI Steering Committee for their advice and insight from running past NSDI instances. We would like to thank Sudarsanan Rajasekaran of MIT, who helped us immensely with the logistics of the PC meetings. We also thank Casey Henderson, Jasmine Murcia, Ginny Staubach, Jessica Kim, Sarah TerHune, Heidi Sherwood, Liz Markel, Camille Mulligan, Cathy Bergman, Nicole Santiago, Olivia Vernetti, Arnold Gatilao, Mo Moreno, and the rest of the USENIX staff for all their hard work behind the scenes. Finally, we would like to thank all the authors for submitting their best work to NSDI.

We look forward to seeing you all in Boston for the 20th iteration of NSDI!

Mahesh Balakrishnan, *Confluent* Manya Ghobadi, *Massachusetts Institute of Technology* NSDI '23 Program Co-Chairs