## **USENIX** Association

Marshall Kirk McKusick (University of California, Berkeley), President Michael D. O'Dell (Bellcore), Vice President Rob Kolstad (Sun Microsystems, Inc.), Secretary Sharon Murrel (AT&T Bell Laboratories), Treasurer Rick Adams (UUNET Communications Services) Ed Gould (Digital Equipment Corporation) Evi Nemeth (University of Colorado) Barry Shein (Software Tool & Die)

## **Computing Systems**

Editor in Chief: Michael D. O'Dell (Bellcore)

## Editorial Advisory Board

Rick Adams (UUNET Technologies, Inc.) Jaap Akkerhuis (AT&T Bell Laboratories) Eric P. Allman (University of California, Berkeley) Peter Collinson (Hillside Systems) Sunil K. Das (City University, London) Marc D. Donner (IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center) Chris Kent (XEROX Parc) Peter Honeyman (University of Michigan) Dan Klein (Carnegie Mellon University) Rob Kolstad (Sun Microsystems, Inc.) Marshall Kirk McKusick (University of California, Berkeley) Marc F. Pucci (Bellcore) Dennis M. Ritchie (AT&T Bell Laboratories) Deborah K. Scherrer (mt Xinu) Jonathan M. Smith (University of Pennsylvania) Eugene Spafford (Purdue University) Joe Sventek (Hewlett Packard Laboratories)

## Staff

Peter H. Salus (Managing Editor; Sun User Group, Inc.)