## **USENIX** Association

Alan G. Nemeth (Prime Computer Inc.), President Deborah K. Scherrer (mt Xinu), Vice President Rob Kolstad (Prisma, Inc.), Secretary Stephen C. Johnson (Ardent Computer Corporation), Treasurer Marshall Kirk McKusick (University of California, Berkeley) Sharon Murrel (AT&T Bell Laboratories) Michael D. O'Dell (Prisma, Inc.) John S. Quarterman (Texas Internet Consulting)

## Computing Systems

Editor in Chief: Michael D. O'Dell (Prisma, Inc.)

## Editorial Advisory Board

Jaap Akkerhuis (Carnegie Mellon University) Frances Brazier (Free University, Amsterdam) Matthew A. Bishop (Dartmouth College) Greg Chesson (Silicon Graphics, Inc.) Peter Collinson (Hillside Systems) Marc D. Donner (IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center) Robert Elz (University of Melbourne) Thomas E. Ferrin (University of California, San Francisco) Peter Honeyman (University of Michigan) Stephen C. Johnson (Ardent Computer Corporation) Lou Katz (Metron Computerware) Chris Kent (Digital Equipment Corporation) Rob Kolstad (Prisma, Inc.) Nigel Martin (The Instruction Set, Ltd.) Marshall Kirk McKusick (University of California, Berkeley) Dennis M. Ritchie (AT&T Bell Laboratories) Anne M. Rogers (Cornell University) Deborah K. Scherrer (mt Xinu) Eugene Spafford (Purdue University)

## Staff

Michelle P. Dominijanni (Copy Editor; Concurrent Computer Corp.) Peter H. Salus (Managing Editor; Open Software Foundation) Tom Strong (Production Editor; Strong Consulting)